Grilled Cheese from Milk Truck

Today at the World Financial Center we saw a particularly appetizing food truck with a manageable line, the Milk Truck. I knew the Milk truck offered grilled cheese sandwiches, and given the cold windy day, it seemed like it would be the perfect place for lunch.

The milk truck has a very appetizing truck design, something about the cream color and orange on the truck’s exterior immediately made me salivate, and the smell of melted cheese and lightly burnt bread coming from the interior just made my stomach grumble even more. The menu items were much pricier than I expected, with the sandwiches all being $6 and up and the sides nearly as expensive. I opted to go with a traditional combo of a grilled cheese and tomato soup.

The Milk Truck classic is the least expensive sandwich, made with “aged Wisconsin Gruyere, and cultured butter on Balthazar Levain Pullman bread”, I added bacon for an additional two dollars. The tomato soup is described as “classic pureed soup made with plum tomatoes, chicken stock and spices, topped with Parmesan shavings”. The entire meal came to a little over $12, a little more than I would have hoped to spend on a grilled cheese and a soup, but I was hungry.

The sandwich was definitely stuffed with cheese, and when I pulled it apart the cheese stretched in a very photogenic way. The Gruyere was delicious, but seemed to harden too quickly for liking. I could hardly taste the bacon inside, either they didn’t put enough in or it was a little too overcooked. The sandwich was tasty was far too small to hold me over for a few hours. The bread tasted a little bit like rye, and paired well with the cheese.

The soup might have been my biggest complaint with the entire meal. For the $5 I spent on it, it was a small paper bowl of regular tomato soup. Maybe I should have expected this before ordering, but from the description of plum tomatoes, spices and parmesan shavings, I was pretty disappointed when my soup tasted just like regular tomato soup. When I dipped my sandwich in it the soup overpowered the entire taste of the grilled cheese, so that didn’t help my situation much either.

Overall the meal was good, not great, but definitely a good meal. If I had ordered it in a diner I probably would have raved about it, but I think there’s some essence to a food truck that makes you expect more unique, gourmet food. And at $12, I probably won’t be returning to the Milk Truck, considering I could have gotten a lobster roll from Luke’s Lobster for just $4 more. The Milk Truck gave me a tasty, homestyle treat, but as a lunch, I could have used a little more sustenance.

DailyFoodtoEat is the official blog of FoodtoEat, a sustainable online food ordering and concierge catering service featuring your favorite restaurants, food trucks and caterers. Check out the deliciousness here: www.foodtoeat.com

 

One thought on “Grilled Cheese from Milk Truck

  1. Hi Dailyfoodtoeat,
    In addition to your post I was wondering, Everyone has had a cheeseburger cooked on the grill. But, how many people have had a “grilled cheese burger” — a burger cooked like a grilled cheese sandwich? If you’re a comfort food junkie and you haven’t had one of these, then you are certainly missing out. The grilled cheese burger is perhaps the ultimate comfort food. Below is the simple, but delicious recipe.
    Keep up the posts!

Leave a Reply

